Jump to content
SportsWrath

Cutler Sacks Gallery


Lubeck
 Share

Recommended Posts

that was one of the worst calls i've ever seen. what, exactly, was the supposed reason for the flag? was that the helmet to helmet thing?

 

yeah, its a pussy rule but it was the right call. Can't the hit the QB in the helmet, especially with your own helmet. Check and check, hence the flag.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

yeah, its a pussy rule but it was the right call. Can't the hit the QB in the helmet, especially with your own helmet. Check and check, hence the flag.

I don't think so. The penalty is for: " 1) A tackler using his helmet to butt, spear, or ram an opponent or

2) Any player who uses the top of his helmet unnecessarily."

 

Goff's helmet barely hit the bottom of the QB's facemask. I don't think that violated either of the two circumstances above.

 

I can see how the Ref thought it was worth a penalty from a certain angle but the replay showed otherwise IMO. The "late hit" call was clearly wrong too, as the pass was effected.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think so. The penalty is for: " 1) A tackler using his helmet to butt, spear, or ram an opponent or

2) Any player who uses the top of his helmet unnecessarily."

 

Goff's helmet barely hit the bottom of the QB's facemask. I don't think that violated either of the two circumstances above.

 

I can see how the Ref thought it was worth a penalty from a certain angle but the replay showed otherwise IMO. The "late hit" call was clearly wrong too, as the pass was effected.

That is why I wanted to see a picture of it... it looked to me that it was a clean hit bellow his head

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think so. The penalty is for: " 1) A tackler using his helmet to butt, spear, or ram an opponent or

2) Any player who uses the top of his helmet unnecessarily."

 

Goff's helmet barely hit the bottom of the QB's facemask. I don't think that violated either of the two circumstances above.

 

I can see how the Ref thought it was worth a penalty from a certain angle but the replay showed otherwise IMO. The "late hit" call was clearly wrong too, as the pass was effected.

 

You're exactly right. He hit him right on the sternum of the shoulder pads, right under the facemask.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think so. The penalty is for: " 1) A tackler using his helmet to butt, spear, or ram an opponent or

2) Any player who uses the top of his helmet unnecessarily."

 

Goff's helmet barely hit the bottom of the QB's facemask. I don't think that violated either of the two circumstances above.

 

I can see how the Ref thought it was worth a penalty from a certain angle but the replay showed otherwise IMO. The "late hit" call was clearly wrong too, as the pass was effected.

 

The QB is special...any hit to the QB's helmet is illegal, doesn't matter which body part the defensive player uses; hands, shoulder, head, its all a 15 yard penalty.

 

To me it looked like the crown of Goff's helmet was squarely in the QB's facemask. Even if it barely hit the bottom of the facemask, as you describe, thats still a penalty.

 

I see what you guys mean though...it might have just looked like it because the way the QB's head got thrown back. Still, putting his helmet down like that was a mistake on Goff's part...if he keeps his head up he probably can see well enough to get his head cleanly on the QB's shoulder and leave no doubt it was a clean hit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...