SportsWrath

Mets (26-27) vs Dodgers (27-27) 7:10 PM

RandolphScott

Game Preview

Fernando Tatis insists that he is still learning the game of baseball.

At 33, he's journeyed through five Major League cities and almost as many position changes. It's been a telling experience, as he doesn't take for granted how hard one has to work to stick around in the game.

Playing right field on Wednesday night, Tatis showed that he still can be educated in the art of catching a fly ball, as he made one grab look more acrobatic than necessary, catching the ball and then stumbling over his feet and rolling into the wall.

"It's not easy," Tatis joked. "It's like I told you guys, you are learning every day. I've been playing this game for many years, and I've never made a catch like that."

But all was forgiven by manager Willie Randolph, who was anxious to list the reasons he covets Tatis after Wednesday night's heroics. The most obvious, of course, is his propensity for the big hits, displayed by his game-winning two-run knock in the 12th inning that gave the Mets a series win over Florida.

Randolph has always had a soft spot for Tatis. Even when he sat with Tatis in late March to tell him that he was letting him go, Randolph felt in his heart that the versatile player would find his way into a Mets uniform somewhere down the road.

That time has come, as Tatis is batting .368 this season with four crucial RBIs in two consecutive starts.

Tatis, along with catcher Ramon Castro and first baseman Damion Easley, was in the lineup in the Mets' two consecutive victories. And as the season moves along, Randolph envisions more playing time for his bench, and in particular Tatis, who can play third base, first base and the outfield, and even can sub at catcher.

Boasting about Tatis after the game, Randolph almost slipped up and commended him on that not-so-simple grab in right field.