SportsWrath

Thomas Has No Doubts He's Still A Starter

Mr. P

Terrell Thomas may have lost a full season of his NFL career, but he hasn’t lost any of his confidence.

He also is sure he hasn’t lost his starting job.

Though the Giants drafted cornerback Prince Amukamara in the first round less than four months before Thomas tore his ACL last August, the four-year veteran isn’t ready to concede anything to the second-year player. Asked if he still considers himself the starting cornerback, opposite Corey Webster in the Giants’ defense, Thomas said “I am. I don’t care what they say.”

“There’s no disrespect for any of the guys in the locker room,” Thomas said today before playing in Chris Canty’s Champions Golf Classic at Manhattan Woods Golf Club in West Nyack, N.Y. “It’s just my mentality. As a rookie I said I was going to be a starter. I just worked my butt off and finally became one. Especially at the corner position you’ve got to be confident in that manner in my opinion. I can’t be sitting here saying, ‘Well, we’ll see.’”

The Giants haven’t said what their defensive depth chart will look like, but nothing is really a certainty behind Webster in one starting spot. Thomas – who got what could be a four-year contract from the Giants that could be worth as much as $28.4 million -- is still recovering from ACL surgery last summer and likely won’t participate in the team’s minicamp in June. Amukamara, who recently had a procedure done to help heal his broken foot, might also have to skip minicamp, too.

Which one starts in the spot vacated by Aaron Ross, who left as a free agent for the Jacksonville Jaguars, could depend on which one is healthiest. Thomas, for his part, said again that his rehab is “ahead of schedule”. Right now, he said the biggest thing is “protecting” his knee “and keep on building strength and be ready for hopefully that game against Dallas (on Sept. 8).”

The ring isn’t the only thing