SportsWrath

Matsuzaka

Ditto

For all those who haven’t yet heard, Matsuzaka it the elite pitching prospect out of Japan whose negotiating rights will be bid by a number of teams, Yankees, Mets, Boston, Cubs, LA Dodgers, and Seattle to name a few.

The way I understand it is, the highest bidder has the sole negotiating rights to sign him, and if that team doesn’t sign him, another bid will be repeated again next year.

This guy is going to flop in the majors, count on it.

(Not that I'm an expert on Japanese baseball or anything. I flipped a coin. Heads, and he's a sure thing. A Cy Young candidate. Tails, and he's Hideki Irabu. It landed on tails, sorry George.)

the guy's not getting 100 mil. he'll get 10-13 mil a year max. you guys are forgetting that whoever wins the bidding gains exclusive negotiating rights with him, the team will have all the leverage

That’s right, and if I were him, I’d try to get an incentive laden contract where if I pitched well, I’d get the going rate of similar pitchers.. Otherwise, I would take a chance and play out the next two years in Japan until I’m a free agent and can negotiate with anyone. That’s his only leverage that I can see.

That’s right, and if I were him, I’d try to get an incentive laden contract where if I pitched well, I’d get the going rate of similar pitchers.. Otherwise, I would take a chance and play out the next two years in Japan until I’m a free agent and can negotiate with anyone. That’s his only leverage that I can see.